Reading, Reading, Reading

Reading….reading….reading.  My favorite thing to do.  The one activity that relaxes me and rids me of all my anxiety.  The only activity that gives me a warm, soft, happy, contented feeling in my heart at the very mention of its name.  Reading.  I’m crazy about it.  And I’m not ashamed to say so.

Before I could even sit up, my mom would lay on the ground next to me, hold a book above me and read to me.  I loved it.  When I could sit up, I went through huge piles of books and made up stories to go with the pictures.  I loved it.  When I could crawl outside, I decided to stay comfortably on my picnic blanket with a stack of books while my brothers ran around me on the grass entertaining themselves.  I loved it.  When I learned to read, (which I did rather quickly,) I started reading and reading and reading.  And that’s what I’ve done ever since.  I love it.  I loved it.  I’ll always love it.  At ten or eleven years old I fell in love with the classics.  At five years old I decided to be a writer.  Have I ever changed my mind?  No.

This is what I do.  I read.  I envelope myself in books, in the varied cultures, people, and places.  My imagination takes me out of this world and into another one, and that is where I am truly happy.  A coffee shop, a cozy chair, a porch swing, a soft bed, a trampoline or the green grass are all places where I can and will be perfectly content.  If I have a book.

It’s magic.

Image

©BookLoverWriterGirl, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

 

About Elisa

An avid book-lover, an aspiring writer, a motivated over-achiever, an innovative poet, an amateur actor, a lover of hot chocolate and popcorn, an energetic photographer, an inspired blogger, a cheesecake fanatic, a singer and violinist, a sentimental lover of fall, one who walks in rain and sings in the shower, addicted to books and addicted to life.

Posted on February 11, 2012, in Reading. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

